Skip to main content

News & Events

News & Events

Mid-Nebraska Community Foundation elects new officers and directors

Dan O’Neill has been elected president of Mid-Nebraska Community Foundation for its new fiscal year, succeeding Joe Staroska who served two years as president.  Other officers elected are: Brandon Jones, vice president, and Amy Engel, secretary-treasurer.

O’Neill is President and CEO of Kwik Stop Convenience Stores, a chain of convenience stores with corporate office in North Platte. 

O’Neill has served eight years on the Community Foundation’s Board of Directors.  He has volunteered for many other organizations, including the Boards of Great Plains Health, Museum of Nebraska Art and Nebraska Public Media.  He also is active in Heartland Singers, St. Patrick’s Catholic Church and North Platte Community Playhouse.   O’Neill is a native of Sumner, Nebraska.

Recently elected as new directors to the Community Foundation’s Board of Directors are Randy Clavel, Marcus Doughty, Kelley Hasenauer, Lowell Moore and Amy Stefka.  Returning to the Board after a break are Alan Erickson and Jane Wilkinson.

The Community Foundation currently administers about 350 separate charitable and scholarship funds, each with specifications established by original donating people or organizations.  Most of the funds administered by the Community Foundation are lasting legacies of donors, according to Executive Director Eric Seacrest.

In the last twelve months, the funds of the Community Foundation paid out well over $2 million in scholarships and grants to nonprofit organizations. The Community Foundation primarily serves North Platte, Lincoln County and 11 nearby counties in Nebraska.